• Trusty Henchman

Upcoming Comics Spotlight

The focus on this installment will be on upcoming LGBTQ+ titles!


You'll see that I'll try to include a little order code with most items (ex:JUL200019). Show some love to your retailer and use those codes when you can, it saves a lot of time on the data entry end of things.

THE TIMES I KNEW I WAS GAY GRAPHIC MEMOIR HC

(W) Eleanor Crewes (A) Eleanor Crewes


Ellie always had questions about who she was and how she fit in. As a girl, she wore black, obsessed over Willow in Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and found dating boys much more confusing than many of her friends did. As she grew older, so did her fears and a deep sense of unbelonging. From her first communion to her first girlfriend via a swathe of self-denial, awkward encounters, and everyday courage, Ellie tells her story through gorgeous illustrations - a fresh and funny self-portrait of a young woman becoming herself.

AUG201578


Why this caught my eye:

I saw some samples and just really adore Crewes' style. This just looks to be a very engaging memoir worth supporting. Check out Crewes' Twitter if you get a chance. You can also pre-order the book here.

KILL A MAN OGN

(W) Steve Orlando, Philip Kennedy Johnson (A/CA) Alec Morgan


As a child, James Bellyi watched his father die in the ring as payback for slurs thrown at the other fighter. Today, he's a Mixed Martial Arts star at the top of his game, and one of the most popular fighters in the world...until he's outed as gay in his title shot press conference.


Abandoned overnight by his training camp, his endorsements, his fans and his sport, to regain his title shot Bellyi is forced to turn to the last person he ever wants to see again: Xavier Mayne, a gay, once-great fighter in his own right...and the man James once watched kill his father.


A singular achievement from writers Steve Orlando (Martian Manhunter, DEAD KINGS) and Phillip K. Johnson (Aquaman, Adventure Time, The Last Time) with art from Alec Morgan (Midnighter, Daredevil, Battlestar Galactica).

AUG201081


Why this caught my eye:

I don't always care for Orlando's plotting, but I also don't know how much crap DC editorial ran him through. I do appreciate his scripting, and Morgan's art looks interesting. The core concept and plot here sound really interesting though, and I would like to see more material like this from Aftershock.

DAYS OF LOVE AT SEAGULL VILLA GN VOL 01

(W) Kodama Naoko (A/CA) Kodama Naoko


A touching yuri romance about two women building a life together in rural Japan, by the bestselling creator of I Married My Best Friend to Shut My Parents Up! When Mayumi's fiancée leaves her for another woman, Mayumi impulsively decides to move away and start over again by the seaside. Once there she meets Rin, a tough but kind single mother who runs the housing complex Seagull Villa. While the two women might not have a lot in common, they're drawn to each other, and the relationship growing between them is deeper than they expected. Sail away on this tale of romance by the sea!

AUG201971


Why this caught my eye:

Honestly, when I'm looking through manga in the order forms I'm often looking at titles that just jump out and then if the solicit sounds anywhere near interesting I'm down. This sounded cute.

MAGIC FISH HC GN

(W) Trung Le Nguyen (A) Trung Le Nguyen


Real life isn't a fairytale. But Tien still enjoys reading his favorite stories with his parents from the books he borrows from the local library. It's hard enough trying to communicate with your parents as a kid, but for Tien, he doesn't even have the right words because his parents are struggling with their English. Is there a Vietnamese word for what he's going through?


Is there a way to tell them he's gay? A beautifully illustrated story by Trung Le Nguyen that follows a boy as he tries to navigate life through fairytales, an instant classic that shows us how we are all connected. The Magic Fish tackles tough subjects in a way that accessible with readers of all ages, and teaches us that no matter what - we can all have our own happy endings.

AUG201539


Why this caught my eye:

An all-ages book about tackling identity and coming out? Beautiful artwork? Random House's new all-ages imprint that's been kicking ass so far? All of these are good reasons to support this debut graphic novel from Trung Le Nguyen.

JULIET TAKES A BREATH ORIGINAL GN

(W) Gabby Rivera (A/CA) Celia Moscote


For fans of Bloom and Spinning, critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera (Marvel's America) adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity and what it means to be true to your amazing self. Even when the rest of the world doesn't understand.


Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn't sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan to figure out what it means to be Puerto Rican, lesbian and out. And that starts with the perfect mentor - Harlowe Brisbane, a feminist author who will surely help Juliet find her best self.


There's just one problem - Harlowe's white, not from the Bronx and doesn't have the answers. Okay, maybe that's more than one problem, but Juliet never said it was a perfect plan...

AUG200966


Why this caught my eye:

So this is an adaptation of Rivera's critically acclaimed debut novel Juliet Takes a Breath, which was called “f*cking outstanding” by Roxane Gay. Rivera is a huge LGBTQ youth advocate, so anything that spreads her outreach, like say a graphic novel that can be carried in libraries, can only be considered a good thing.

That's it for this chunk of spotlights! Next up I'll focus on Superhero material!

18 views

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com