• Trusty Henchman

Upcoming Comics Spotlight: Sci-Fi

Time to check out some upcoming sci-fi titles that caught my eye in the order forms!


You'll see that I'll try to include a little order code with most items (ex:JUL200019). Show some love to your retailer and use those codes when you can, it saves a lot of time on the data entry end of things.

SACRIFICE OF DARKNESS ORIGINAL HC

(W) Roxane Gay, Tracy Lynne Oliver (A/CA) Rebecca Kirby


New York Times bestselling author Roxane Gay (World of Wakanda, Difficult Women) adapts her short story "We Are the Sacrifice of Darkness" as a full-length graphic novel with writer Tracy Lynne Oliver (This Weekend), and artist Rebecca Kirby (Biopsy.) Expanding an unforgettable world where a tragic event forever bathes the world in darkness, The Sacrifice of Darkness follows one woman's powerful journey through this new landscape as she discovers love, family, and the true light in a world seemingly robbed of any.


This young adult drama challenges notions of identity, guilt, and survival in a graphic novel for fans of On A Sunbeam and Are You Listening?

JUN200781


Why this caught my eye:

Kirby's art is looking great in what previews we've been able to see so far, and the character and relationship focus of the story under the sci-fi framing sounds like it will be really interesting.

ORIGINS #1

(W) Clay Chapman (A/CA) Jakub Rebelka


* A thousand years after humans are killed off by artificial intelligence, one man is brought back to life - David Adams, who created the technology that destroyed his people.

* Now with the help of the android Chloe who revived him, David will try to restore humanity - and stop the AI overlords he created.

* David embarks on the greatest battle of his life, seeking redemption while also discovering if humanity can - or should - have any kind of future.

* A new sci-fi epic for fans of Little Bird and Descender from acclaimed writer Clay McLeod Chapman (Absolute Carnage: Separation Anxiety) and illustrator Jakub Rebelka (Judas), based on a concept by Arash Amel (A Private War), Joseph Oxford (Me + Her), and Lee Toland Krieger (The Age of Adaline).

SEP200899


Why this caught my eye:

I love Rebelka's unique and utterly amazing art style, so that's the big draw for me. I'm also a fan of any sci-fi that asks the question on whether humans should survive or not.

PLUTOCRACY GN

(W) Abraham Martinez (A) Abraham Martinez


2051. The world's largest company, The Company, has seized power on a planetary scale and runs the world as if it were a business. In a plutocracy, the richer one is, the more powerful one is. The elections have been replaced by general shareholders' meetings where the votes are linked to the number of shares owned by citizens. Government is made up of those who own the most shares and it is the laws of the market that govern everything, creating a strange political system. In this context, an anonymous citizen becomes compelled to uncover how the world came to this situation, without paying any attention to the official version. He seeks to discover the true history of The Company and to try to understand what are the various interests that are trying to influence his investigation.

SEP201343


Why this caught my eye:

I don't know, I guess I just like to depress myself with soul crushing reflections of how broken our world is?

PARIS 2119 HC

(W) Zep (A/CA) Dominique Bertail


In the year 2119, instantaneous teleportation has altered almost every facet of human civilization, but progress has its price... BLACK MIRROR meets BLADE RUNNER in this taught, mature, hi-concept thriller told in homage to classic retro-sci fi. A cyberpunk love story.

SEP201333


Why this caught my eye:

I went ahead and supported the Kickstarter as the world and set-up sounded really engaging, plus Bertail's artwork really sold it.


THE DOOR GN

(W) Michael Moreci (A/CA) Esau Escorza


Waking up in a hallucination dreamscape where society has given up free will and where outliers are quickly re-integrated into the system, Lize ponders the same basic questions every human being has at least once formulated.  "Who am I?"  "Where am I?" "Where am I going?" And then she realizes that if she wants answers, she must seek one thing and one thing only: The Door.

SEP201291


Why this caught my eye:

Heavy Metal psychedelic metaphysical journeys are usually worth checking out, if at the very least for the art. While the write up is fairly vague, I was able to find some preview pages and it they great.

That does it for this batch! The next installment will have a bit of a mixed bag of crime and fantasy!

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com