• Trusty Henchman

Upcoming Comics Spotlight: Humor

This batch features puppy adventurers, a new project from Tess Stone, Eric Powell's new anthology title, the return of Army of Darkness and Reanimator, and the gross-out crossover we never saw in the 80's between Garbage Pail Kids and Madballs.

 

PUPPY KNIGHT DEN OF DECEPTION

(W) Michael Sweater (A/CA) Josue Cruz


There's no knight braver than Sparky Muttson! (Except maybe his enthusiastic and very cute apprentice, Pugsly.) They're ready for their first adventure together, and while this quest might not turn out exactly how they expected, Sparky and Pugsly have the chops to make it through-no bones about it!

FEB221690


Why this caught my eye:

Another one that I'm late in spotlighting, but it looks super cute and fun plus I just like supporting Silver Sprocket books. You can check out some preview pages and order directly from the publisher here.

 

TROVER SAVES THE UNIVERSE TP VOL 01

(W) Tess Stone (A/CA) Tess Stone


For fans of Rick and Morty and Mega Man!?


A new limited series filled with mystery, murder, and mayhem from fan-favorite creator TESS STONE, set in the world of Rick and Morty co-creator Justin Roiland's hit video game series TROVER SAVES THE UNIVERSE!?


Welcome to the ICJ-Important Cosmic Jobs-where employees are ranked by their boss, and at the end of each month, the worst employee literally gets the axe. It's...not a great gig.


But when the ICJ's top eyehole monster winds up dead, the company's most inept (and rival) employees, Klover and Bo, are falsely accused of his murder and hunted by the Space Cops!? Now they must clear their names and unravel a conspiracy that reaches the very top...that is, if they don't kill each other first!??


Collects TROVER SAVES THE UNIVERSE #1-5

JUN220142


Why this caught my eye:

Another late spotlight as this collection was released back in Feb, I just now caught a resolicit and this time around I noticed Tess Stone was doing story and art. Tess Stone has done one of my favorite horror/comedy titles in Not Drunk Enough, so I want to push their work as often as I can.

 

ALBATROSS EXPLODING FUNNYBOOKS #1

(W) Eric Powell, Lucky Yates (A/CA) Eric Powell


In the spirit of the Golden Age of comics, Eric Powell brings you a new anthology series featuring his fan favorite creations. The Goon, Hillbilly, La Diabla, Lester of the Lesser Gods and Lula the Bearded Girl will all be featured in the pages of Albatross Exploding Funnybooks! But that's not all. The series will also contain original one-off stories and satirical cartoons by Powell. That's right, it's a printed and stapled receptacle for the bizarre musings of a backwoods loon! Don't miss out on this oversized 48 page first issue!


Also available with a variant La Diabla cover by Dani Strips!

MAR221254


Why this caught my eye:

I'll be honest and say that I fell off the Goon boat quite a few years back, but I'm generally open to giving Powell a try here and there again.

 

AOD VS REANIMATOR NECRONOMICON RISING #1

(W) Erik Burnham (A) Eman Casallos (CA) Tony Fleecs


When an archaeological dig unveils an important element from the world of the Army of Darkness, it ends up in the absolute worst hands of all: Dr. Herbert West's. As West tinkers in God's domain, our reluctant hero is once more drawn into the sphere of destiny as he faces a triple threat of danger!


Writer Erik Burnham is joined by returning Dynamite artist Eman Casallos to bring you all the excitement and Deadite action! Joining Dynamite superstar cover artists Arthur "Zombie King" Suydam and Stuart (Kiss) Sayger is Tony (Stray Dogs) Fleecs and the Dynamite debut of Christopher (Hellboy) Mitten!

MAY220589


Why this caught my eye:

Previous AOD and Reanimator projects from Dynamite have never really called to me, but I do appreciate Erik Burnham. I also appreciated that the original solicit for this has like two chunky paragraphs all about Burnham (that I removed for the sake of brevity), so Dynamite is all about pushing their talents.


I did not remove the giant chunk of Dynamite solicit data oversharing in the next entry below because I found it kinda interesting.....

 

MADBALLS VS GARBAGE PAIL KIDS #1

(W) Sholly Fisch (A) Jason Crosby (CA) Joe Simko


For the first time ever, the "heavyweights of gross" have combined forces in a massive merchandising blitz that pits the Madballs against the Garbage Pail Kids-winner take all! As part of this blitz, Dynamite presents the comic book crossover of these iconic 1980s brands!


For over three decades, Madballs and GPK have both been known as the "grossest of the gross," co-ruling counterculture with their pun-heavy names and subversive humor. This all-new limited series event presents the first time these two delightfully crude forces have ever crossed paths!


Written by Sholly Fisch, each issue features three incredible covers by legendary Garbage Pail Kids artist Joe Simko, series artist Jason Crosby, and a special trading card team-up cover created specially for this momentous meeting of the (depraved) minds!


As the original "gross out" brand of the 1980s, Topps released its Garbage Pail Kids series of trading cards in 1985, featuring hilariously revolting characters with appropriately irreverent names. Fifteen different card series were produced over the next three years, in addition to a Garbage Pail Kids animated series and a full slate of globally-licensed consumer products, with ongoing product lines that continues to the present day. For its part, Madballs launched its irregularly shaped toy foam balls in 1986, featuring its own proprietary and often-socially inappropriate characters with ghastly faces, grotesque names, and disruptively funny attitudes to match. Madballs went on to sell tens of millions of toys, inspire a series of animated specials, and launch an extensive consumer products program that included comic books, softlines, video games, collectibles, seasonal items, and back-to-school products.


Writer Sholly Fisch's credits run the gamut from Superman to Star Wars to Scooby-Doo, and from Clive Barker's Hellraiser to Looney Tunes. His comics for kids have won a Comics Buyer's Guide Fan Award, and been nominated for an Eisner Award and two Diamond Gem Awards, while several of his stories for older readers were included in the #1 New York Times bestselling graphic novel collections of Action Comics. MAY220577


Why this caught my eye:

Ok so first of all, damn Dynamite, thanks for all the info in your solicits. Maybe a tad much but better than ordering blind like when Marvel puts one sentence for a title. Secondly, kudos for pushing Sholly Fisch in your solicit, he deserves some spotlighting and lord knows DC wouldn't put in the effort.


Finally, as a kid who replayed their Madballs VHS nearly to the point of destruction, I find it kind of amazing to see a comic coming out.

 

3 views0 comments