• Trusty Henchman

Upcoming Comics Spotlight: Drama & Slice-of-Life

Time for some drama and existential dread! So just like all of 2020, right?


You'll see that I'll try to include a little order code with most items (ex:JUL200019). Show some love to your retailer and use those codes when you can, it saves a lot of time on the data entry end of things.

GREAT GATSBY HC GN ADAPTATION

(W) F Scott Fitzgerald, K Woodman-Maynard (A) K Woodman-Maynard


This faithful yet modern adaptation will appeal to fans with deep knowledge of the classic, while the graphic novel format makes it an ideal teaching tool to engage students. With its timeless critique of class, power, and obsession, The Great Gatsby Graphic Novel captures the energy of an era and the enduring resonance of one of the world's most beloved books.

NOV201189


Why this caught my eye:

Candlewick Press does good work and the timely release of this adaptation is a smart move considering all the attention that the Great Gatsby is receiving now that it has entered the public domain. I'm unfamiliar with Woodman-Maynard's work but her style feels like a solid fit for the project.

GETTING IT TOGETHER TP

(W) Sina Grace, Omar Spahi (A) Sina Grace, Mx Struble (A/CA) Jenny Fine


Newcomer artist JENNY D. FINE shines alongside Marvel Comics' Iceman writer SINA GRACE and co-creator OMAR SPAHI in the all-new modern dramedy you didn't know you needed! Sam and Jack are best friends, and Sam is dating Lauren, Jack's indie rocker sister and roommate. Tensions skyrocket when Sam and Lauren decide to open up their long-term relationship, sending social shockwaves through their friend group and the entire Bay Area, leaving poor Jack caught in the middle! Life gets pretty messy when you're in your 20s and your friends are your family. Includes back-up stories and never-before-seen bonus content! Collects GETTING IT TOGETHER #1-4. JAN210087


Why this caught my eye:

Fans of Grace's Li’l Depressed Boy and Iceman runs may want to keep an eye out for this, and Jenny Fine's artwork is very eye-catching.

COMPLETE KIRBY WAR AND ROMANCE HC ROMANCE DM VAR

(W) Stan Lee (A/CA) Jack Kirby


King of the comics art form, Jack Kirby needs no introduction. He was an architect of the Marvel Universe, but his contributions extended far beyond just super heroes. Now, highlighting two sides of the human condition, Kirby's war and romance work finally gets its due! A combat veteran during World War II, Kirby brings hard-earned realism to BATTLEGROUND and BATTLE - while Kirby and Stan Lee bring the war genre into the Marvel Age with SGT. FURY! On the other end of the spectrum are tales from vintage romance titles - many restored directly from Kirby's original art - that prove that love is war!


Collecting material from BATTLE #64-70; BATTLEGROUND #14; SGT. FURY #1-8, #10-20 and #25; LOVE ROMANCES #83-85, #87-88 and #96-106; MY OWN ROMANCE #71-76 and TEEN-AGE ROMANCE #84-86.

NOV200616


Why this caught my eye:

Because Kirby, and because it's a pain to hunt down all of these odd romance titles so it's extremely nice to have a high end reprinting available.

A SISTER GN

(W) Bastien Vives (A/CA) Bastien Vives


A coming of age story in the tradition of Marjane Satrapi's Persepolis, Tillie Walden's Spinning, and Mariko Tamaki's This One Summer. Antoine, a teenager, is on holiday at the seaside with his parents and his younger brother, Titi. Both spend most of their time drawing, at restaurants and on the beach. But one day Helene and her mother come to spend a few days with the family and her presence will change Antoine's life. In A Sister, Bastien Vives, a master storyteller, conveys the stumbling awakenings of adolescent feelings.

NOV200973


Why this caught my eye:

I generally don't associate Ablaze with projects like this so I'm always interested in seeing publishers expand, plus Vivès' art looks great.

DOWN RIVER PEOPLE ORIGINAL GN

(W) Adrian Smith (A/CA) Matt Fox


For fans of Stillwater and Essex County comes a new graphic novel reuniting writer Adam Smith and artist Matt Fox, the duo behind the Eisner and Harvey Award-nominated Long Walk to Valhalla, for a riveting story about a man attempting to survive the complicated and dangerous web of his family's criminal ties with his soul intact.


Myers Carpenter is a bootlegger who just inherited his family's bar and must turn to his estranged mother - who he hasn't seen since he was a boy - for help.


Myers learns the secrets of his new family's lodge, but he may not escape the dark cult thriving just under the surface of opulence.

JAN210966


Why this caught my eye:

The extended summary on the Boom site sets up a pretty interesting story, and southern gothic is an interesting genre that we don't see in comics too often so I'm down with seeing what they have to offer.

That's it for this batch, we'll aim towards some fantasy book next!

8 views0 comments