• Trusty Henchman

Upcoming Comics Spotlight: Crime/Suspense

On this batch of crime comics we have the rise of a female mob boss, a horrifying psychological thriller, the adventures of London's Conciliator, a criminal internship with supernatural undertones, and a selection of Humanoids' best crime fiction.

MAFIOSA TP

(W) Sunshine Barbito (A) Alessia Alfano, Debora Carita (CA) Jenny Frison


At the height of the roaring twenties, the daughter of a mafia boss is determined to rise to prominence in her family's business.


Nicoletta has aspirations to join her brothers in the family business - an organized crime syndicate running the streets of Brooklyn. Though her father objects and a crisis ensues, Nicoletta takes it upon herself to prove she has what it takes, moving steadfastly into a world of brutality. New York has a new player in town, and they ain't seen nothing yet!


Combining the romanticism of the roaring twenties and Nicoletta's journey into the brazen violence of mafia-dominated New York, Mafiosa sets the status quo ablaze - with style, class, and a smoking barrel.

JUN210327


Why this caught my eye:

This was another Kickstarter that popped up on my radar a good while back so it's good to see Dark Horse pick it up. There's a nice article with preview art worth checking out here.

EAT THE RICH #1

(W) Sarah Gailey (A) Pius Bak (CA) Kevin Tong


What unspeakable horror eats away at the heart of Crestfall Bluffs?


With law school and her whole life ahead of her, Joey plans to summer with her boyfriend Astor in his seemingly perfect hometown of Crestfall Bluffs.


It's a chance to finally meet Astor's family and childhood friends, all while enjoying a vacation with every need attended to by servants. But beneath the affluent perfection lies a dark, deadly rot... will Joey discover the truth before it's too late, and if she does, can she survive to tell the tale?


The bold, horrifying psychological thriller from Hugo Award-winning author Sarah Gailey (The Echo Wife, Magic For Liars) with artist Pius Bak (Firefly, The Magicians), perfect for fans of Stillwater and Nailbiter!

JUN211012


Why this caught my eye:

The Tong cover is what drew me in but I'm digging Bak's artwork.

MISS ENDICOTT GN VOL 01

(W) Jean-Cristophe Derrien (A/CA) Xavier Fourquemin


After many years abroad, Prudence Endicott is back in England to bury her mother. Hired as a nanny by a wealthy London family, the young woman immediately begins to spend her nights in the more popular neighborhoods, for Miss Endicott has assumed her mother's role and is now London's new Conciliator, the woman who helps the poor and the humble to solve their problems when society ignores them. A difficult task - especially as something sinister appears to be brewing underneath London.

JUN211412


MISS ENDICOTT GN VOL 02

(W) Jean-Cristophe Derrien (A/CA) Xavier Fourquemin


Miss Endicott's life as a Conciliator is off to a bad start: a strange plot is being hatched in the tunnels beneath London, her headquarters have been torched, the child whose nanny she is by day has disappeared while following her at night... and to top it all, her mother, whom everyone believed dead, has reappeared! A blessing, or a curse? Can two Conciliators together defeat the mysterious master, assuming two Conciliators could ever work together?

JUN211413


Why this caught my eye:

I really like the premise plus Fourquemin's art has a nice clean flow to it that I really like.

NINE STONES #1

(W) Samuel Spano (A/CA) Samuel Spano


Disturbing dreams shake Alistair "Allie" Jacobi's nights. But his daytime life is not much better. His father, the boss of a criminal organization, has decided that it's time for his son to gain experience in the underworld. So Allie, 19, finds himself doing an "internship" in a convenience store run by the man who, under the cover of home deliveries, is selling drugs to the entire city. To teach him the "job" is Christopher, an older guy. The bond created between the two of them will give life to dark presences and disturbing and enigmatic premonitions.

JUN211338


Why this caught my eye:

This series might lean a little more supernatural in the long run, but either way the premise sounds promising. Check out Spano's artwork as well, looks great!

FIRST DEGREE CRIME ANTHOLOGY HC

(W) David Walker, Sydney Duncan (A) Michael Lark, J.P. Mayinga (CA) David Aja


A woman lures her husband and his secret lover to an abandoned house. Something sinister is happening inside the convent. A chef commits the perfect murder.


Over the past 25 years, the POLAR Festival of Cognac, France has established itself as one of the most esteemed crime fiction conventions in the world. FIRST DEGREE: A CRIME ANTHOLOGY is a commemorative celebration of the festival's silver anniversary, containing over a dozen tales by the writers and artists it has recognized along with a selection of Humanoids' best crime fiction and an all-new story by Eisner Award-winners David F. Walker (Bitter Root) and Michael Lark (Gotham Central, Lazarus) and a cover by David Aja (Hawkeye, The Seeds).

JUN211594


Why this caught my eye:

There's a more detailed listing of creators involved and a preview over The Beat. Even without that info though it's worth taking the plunge on a David Walker/Michael Lark collab.

That's it for this batch, we'll hit some superhero stuff next time!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All