• Trusty Henchman

Upcoming Comics Spotlight: Biography/Autobiography/Nonfiction

While the catalogs were generally a bit light this past month, there were some really good looking books in this category worth taking a look at.


You'll see that I'll try to include a little order code with most items (ex:JUL200019). Show some love to your retailer and use those codes when you can, it saves a lot of time on the data entry end of things.

SEEN ORIGINAL GN RACHEL CARSON

(W) Birdie Willis (A/CA) Rii Abrego


* A new non-fiction graphic novel series for fans of March and A Quick and Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns that explores the stories of the real groundbreakers and Marginalized Trailblazers who changed our world for the better.


* It's about being seen. Both for who you are, and who you hope you can become. History is a mirror, and all too often, the history we're told in school reflects only a small subset of the population.


* Meet Rachel Carson, the woman who changed the way America fought against the environmental crisis through her bestselling books, ultimately spurring the creation of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.


* Birdie Willis & Rii Abrego present the true story of the marine biologist whose dedication, compassion and integrity gave a new generation of Americans hope for a brighter tomorrow.

NOV200895


Why this caught my eye:

I've been eagerly waiting for this series after the initial announcements, it sounds like it will be a great title to try to get into classrooms and libraries. I also really like Abrego's art and this first subject should be fascinating to read up on, so Feb can't get here fast enough.

FOR JUSTICE SERGE & BEATE KLARSFELD STORY SC

(W) Pascal Bresson (A) Sylvian Dorange


The seldom-told true story of France's most famous Nazi Hunters and heroes of the Resistance: The Klarsfelds.


For the past fifty years, Beate and Serge Klarsfeld have been hunting Nazis all across the globe. But their story isn't just about justice. It's about love. Beate, a German journalist and activist born in Berlin as the War began; and Serge, a Romanian-born French-Jewish lawyer whose father was deported and killed by the Nazis: a couple brought together by-and tested by-dangerous endeavors.


They started out by challenging Nazi propaganda in the 1960s and before they knew it, this vibrant couple had devoted their entire lives to investigating and documenting countless Nazi war criminals and bringing them to justice for their unacknowledged and incomprehensible hate crimes committed decades before.


This book was written in partnership with Serge and Beate Klarsfeld.

NOV201386


Why this caught my eye:

I've enjoyed a few of the Life Drawn imprint books from Humanoids so far, and I'm ignorant about the Klarsfeld's so this has already motivated me to do some research. I just love that so many publishers have expanded their offerings to include subjects like this.

NATURALIST GRAPHIC ADAPTATION

(W) Edward O Wilson, Jim Ottaviani (A) C. M. Butzer


Regarded as one of the world's preeminent biologists, Edward O. Wilson spent his boyhood exploring the forests and swamps of south Alabama and the Florida panhandle, collecting snakes, butterflies, and ants. His memoir Naturalist is an inspiring account of Wilson's growth as a scientist and the evolution of the fields he helped define. In this adaptation, vivid illustrations draw readers in to Wilson's lifelong quest to explore and protect the natural world. His success began with an insatiable curiosity about Earth's wild creatures, and this new edition of Naturalist makes Wilson's work accessible for anyone who shares his passion.

NOV201391


Why this caught my eye:

It's just always worth checking out what new project Jim Ottaviani puts out. If you're into biographies focusing on scientists I highly recommend checking out his works.

COMICS FOR CHOICE ILLUS ABORTION STORIES ANTHOLOGY GN

(W) Various (A) Various (CA) Sophia Foster-Dimino


Cartoonists and illustrators have teamed up with activists, historians, and reproductive justice experts to create comics about their diverse personal stories, the history of abortion, the current politics, and more. As this fundamental reproductive right continues to be stigmatized and jeopardized, over sixty artists and writers have created comics that boldly share their own experiences and educate readers . The anthology has been honored with the Ignatz Award for Outstanding Anthology and Eisner Award nominated.

NOV201512


Why this caught my eye:

The more education the better, the more voices the better.

GIRLSPLAINING ORIGINAL HC

(W) Katja Klengel (A/CA) Katja Klengel


* For fans of Kid Gloves and Waves comes a new original graphic novel by cartoonist Katja Klengel tackling the subjects that have shaped her life: from body shaming to the exploration of her female sexuality, from the representation of women in the media to the social pressure on women who have not yet started a family.

* Why do we fear the word "vulva"?

* Do we really have to be ashamed of our body hair?

* Why do gender roles in children's toys seem to be stuck in the '50s?

* With a sense of humor, an open heart, and unsparing candor, Klengel draws inspiration from her own life as she examines what being a woman today means to her (and really, a whole lot of us!).

* Please Note: This is for Mature Readers.

NOV200896


Why this caught my eye:

I really enjoy Klengel's art and storytelling, plus again I'm just down with more books breaking down any barriers to educate and get more voices out there.

That's it for this batch! If the new catalogs aren't out soon I may have to make a genre mash-up next time, we'll see what's what!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All