• Trusty Henchman

Upcoming Comics Spotlight: All-Ages & YA

Time to see what all-ages and YA gems we can hunt down in the catalogs!


You'll see that I'll try to include a little order code with most items (ex:JUL200019). Show some love to your retailer and use those codes when you can, it saves a lot of time on the data entry end of things.

CLIFFORD THE BIG RED DOG THE MOVIE GN

(W) Georgia Ball (A) Chi Ngo


The Big Red Dog is hitting the big screen! It's a race through NYC in this graphic novel based on the new live-action Clifford movie. Emily Elizabeth is struggling to fit in at home and in school when she meets Clifford, a tiny red puppy who is destined to become her best friend. But when Clifford undergoes a magical growth spurt overnight, he attracts the attention of a genetics company looking for a way to supersize animals. With the help of her Uncle Casey, the people in her neighborhood, and some new friends made along the way, Emily Elizabeth and Clifford have to go on the run across New York City! Available in softcover and hardcover editions. AUG201562


Why this caught my eye:

This is adapted by Georgia Ball, a great Seattle based talent that we had on an episode of the Perfect Bound podcast, so definitely wanted to highlight for that reason. Plus on top of that, it's Clifford the Big Red Dog yo. I had no idea that Clifford, arguably the goodest boy of all kaiju, was going to have a new movie so that alone blows my mind.

JO & RUS ORIGINAL GN

(W) Audra Winslow (A/CA) Audra Winslow


* A new middle grade graphic novel perfect for fans of Lumberjanes and Stargazing from cartoonist Audra Winslow about two unlikely best friends who learn to roll with the punches when life doesn't go their way.


* Jo and Rus don't realize how much they have in common - she's a middle schooler who's constantly bullied and he's a high schooler in a rock band.


* But when a mysterious one-eyed cat brings them together, they quickly learn they're both outcasts trying to figure out what they really want from life in a world where the odds are stacked against them.


* Now they'll discover who they are, who they want to be and what it takes for every one of us to find our own happiness!

OCT200926


Why this caught my eye:

Yes, more coming of age tales involving mysterious one-eyed cats please. Keep 'em coming.

CAT KID COMIC CLUB HC GN VOL 01

(W) Dav Pilkey (A/CA) Dav Pilkey


A brand-new graphic novel series by Dav Pilkey, the internationally bestselling author and illustrator of the Dog Man and Captain Underpants series. Welcome to the Cat Kid Comic Club, where Li'l Petey (LP), Flippy, and Molly introduce twenty-one rambunctious, funny, and talented baby frogs to the art of comic making. As the story unwinds with mishaps and hilarity, readers get to see the progress, mistakes, and improvements that come with practice and persistence.


Squid Kid and Katydid, Baby Frog Squad, Gorilla Cheese Sandwich, and Birds Flowers Tree: A Haiku Photo Comic are just some of the mini-comics that are included as stories-within-the-story, each done in a different style, utilizing humor and drama, prose and poetry, illustrated in different media including acrylics, pastels, colored pencils, felt-tip markers, clay, hand-made cardboard sculptures, photographs, pipe cleaners, construction paper collages, and cookies.

OCT201425


Why this caught my eye:

I'm essentially legally obligated to spotlight any new Dav Pilkey books at this point as they are the best selling comics in the world. An entire book focused on making comics is pretty brilliant, and considering how popular the Dogman books are that means this is a project that can literally influence millions of children into becoming comic creators.

SUPER MARIO BROS MANGA MANIA GN

(W) Yukio Sawada (A) Yukio Sawada


Join Mario and pals in crazy adventures inspired by the hit video games! In this collection of short stories, Mario and Luigi go on adventures that showcase the fan-favorite characters of the Mario world in new, unconventional and hilarious ways. This compilation, handpicked from years of Mario comics in Japan, has never been available in English-until now!

OCT201796


Why this caught my eye:

This looks fun, plus considering how much of an institution Mario is this can be a pretty great gateway to get more kids into comics.

FOREVER HOME ORIGINAL GN

(W) Jenna Ayoub (A/CA) Jenna Ayoub


* A new middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Sheets and Anya's Ghost from acclaimed cartoonist Jenna Ayoub (Adventure Time) about a girl named Willow, who's got two parents in the military and has lived a nomadic childhood that's made it seem impossible to find a place she can call home - until now!


* And when the family arrives at their latest stop-the historic Hadleigh House-Willow encounters something that doesn't help her chances of staying put...GHOSTS!


* Hadleigh House's spectral occupants have been scaring off would-be residents for decades, and they intend to keep the house to themselves.


* But Willow's not about to let some nagging spirits force her to move for the millionth time. It's just a matter of convincing Willow's parents that this old house is the one for them-ghosts and all...

OCT200927


Why this caught my eye:

I'm generally a fan of 'sassy ghosts try to evict the living' as a trope, plus this looks pretty adorable and I really like Ayoub's art a lot.

That wraps up this batch! We'll see what kind of auto-bio material we can scrounge up on the next one!

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com