top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrusty Henchman

New & Upcoming Comics Spotlight: Crime/Mystery

DICK TRACY #1

(W) Alex Segura, Michael Moreci, Chantelle Aimee Osman (A/CA) Geraldo Borges

DICK TRACY RETURNS IN A NEW ONGOING SERIES FROM MAD CAVE!


A new era for the iconic detective starts here, from bestselling and acclaimed authors Alex Segura and Michael Moreci, as an all-new, noir-infused chapter in the Dick Tracy legacy kicks off with superstar artist Geraldo Borges.


In the aftermath of World War II, the country stands frozen--waiting for the next shoe to drop. In The City, a brutal murder draws the attention of rising star detective Dick Tracy, who soon discovers the bloodshed is just the beginning of a complicated web that threatens to ensnare everything he cares about.


Blending the classic elements of the Dick Tracy world (including his iconic villains, supporting cast, and unforgettable watch radio) with a hardboiled and realistic take, DICK TRACY #1 kicks off a fresh and modern take on the iconic detective that remains true to his rich history.

FEB241536


Why this caught my eye:

I appreciate that Mad Cave has been pushing hard on marketing this for a while now, and the art is looking pretty solid.

 

TORPEDO 1972 #1

(W) Enrique Sanchez Abuli (A/CA) Eduardo Risso


FROM THE CO-CREATOR and ARTIST of EISNER WINNING SERIES 100 BULLETS comes a reimagining of the crime noir Torpedo!


MARKETING DESCRIPTION: In the 1930s, Lucas Torelli, known as "Torpedo", was a legend of the suburbs of New York. A tough, trigger-happy Sicilian who only knew how to make friends-anyone else is no longer here to say otherwise. Nearly forty years later, the Big Apple has changed quite a bit. Torpedo, not so much. As a persistent journalist prepares to write an article about the Caputo family, the demons of Torpedo's past resurface, along with his dirty old habits...

JAN241029


Why this caught my eye:

Nice to see Risso fairly busy these days, and preview pages are looking great.

 

DISPLACED #1 (OF 5)

(W) Ed Brisson (A/CA) Luca Casalanguida


The city of Oshawa, Ontario has vanished without a trace. Even worse, nobody remembers it or the 170,000 missing residents that disappeared along with it.


As the survivors also fall into the forgotten, they must seek each other out, if they hope to have any chance of surviving in a world where no one believes they exist...


Highly acclaimed writer Ed Brisson (Batman: The Brave and the Bold, Predator), rising star artist Luca Casalanguida (Regarding the Matter of Oswald's Body, James Bond), and red hot colorist Dee Cunniffe (Barnstormers, Crossover) pose the question... how can you feel connected to reality or each other if by all veritable means, you don't exist?

DEC230104


Why this caught my eye:

Solid sounding story pitch, and Casalanguida's art is looking crisp and clean.

 

JILL AND THE KILLERS #1

(W) Olivia Cuartero-Briggs (A) Roberta Ingranata (CA) Sanya Anwar


A DOUBLE-SIZED AND DANGEROUS 48-PAGE DEBUT!


Rising stars Olivia Cuartero-Briggs (Mary Shelley Monster Hunter) and Roberta Ingranata (Witchblade, Doctor Who) present a new kind of game where even murder is much more than it seems . . .


Returning to school after the unsolved disappearance of her mother, teenager Jill Estrada can't wait for things to return to normal . . . even as her friends become compulsively obsessed with Box Killers, a true-crime subscription game where each month's "unsolved case" is custom-tailored to the life of its player. There's only one catch: Jill's game seems to be all too real . . . and when her clues begin to connect to a series of disappearances in her town, Jill and her friends must uncover the truth behind these mysterious crimes before one of their own becomes the next victim. NOV231583


Why this caught my eye:

This feels like an interesting update on the 90's school thrillers like Scream and I Know What You Did Last Summer. Check out some preview pages here.

 

BLOW AWAY #1 (OF 5)

(W) Zac Thompson (A) Nicola Izzo (CA) Annie Wu


Unyielding wildlife photographer Brynne Brautigan, isolated in the remote cold of Baffin Island, sees something she can't unsee.


An argument, followed by an outburst of intense violence between two nearby climbers-did she just witness a murder?


In a frantic search for the truth, Brynne discovers just what she's looking for, but little does she know that more than the silent white of winter is keeping her company...


Hit writer Zac Thompson (Hunt for the Skinwalker, Cemetery Kids Don't Die) and star artist Nicola Izzo (Buffy: The Last Vampire Slayer) team up for this neo-noir crime thriller rife with murder and paranoia, in the tradition of Fargo and Rear Window! FEB240010


Why this caught my eye:

Izzo's artwork looks fun, and and the set-up for this mystery thriller sounds engaging.

6 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page