top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrusty Henchman

New & Upcoming Comics Spotlight: All-Ages/YA

This batch features hearts in jars, a medieval-fantasy universe inspired by Celtic legends, a young squire and an inept knight, a teen who wakes up in a different body each day, and Mike Maihack finally officially tackling some all-ages SPider-Man action.

 

FAINT OF HEART HC GN

(W) Kerilynn Wilson (A) Kerilynn Wilson


In a debut teen graphic novel that is part Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and part Black Mirror, a high school student must figure out how to exist in a world where she is the only one left with a heart-and whether she wants to keep hers at all. The Faint of Heart is a vivid, ethereal, and haunting novel for readers of ND Stevenson's Nimona and Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki's This One Summer. Not that long ago, the Scientist discovered that all sadness, anxiety, and anger disappeared when you removed your heart. And that's all it took. Soon enough, the hospital had lines out the door.


June is an exceptional high schooler, though not in the way you'd expect. She is the only one in town who still has her heart. When she looks at her heartless family and friends, she knows she can't become one of them. But the pressure, loneliness, and heartache are mounting, and it's becoming harder and harder to be the only one with a heart. And then June comes across an abandoned heart in a jar.


The heart in the jar intrigues her, it baffles her, and it brings her hope. June wonders if the heart can be used to revitalize her sister. But the heart also brings her Max, a classmate with a secret of his own: though he had his heart removed, he is starting to feel again-and it hurts.


June will have to choose between a boy she barely knows-a boy who's in pain-and the sister she loves dearly-who feels nothing. But will her own heart rip in two in the process? Kerilynn Wilson's debut graphic novel is part speculative fiction and part cautionary tale. Her finely realized, extraordinary illustrations use color-or lack thereof-to emphasize June's isolation and emotions in an emotionless world. The Faint of Heart is a vivid and haunting graphic novel that explores complex emotional themes that often mark the adolescent years.

APR231502


Why this caught my eye:

Check out Wilson's art, it's looking great and I like the set-up of the story.

 

SHEPHERDESS WARRIORS GN VOL 01

(W) Jonathan Garnier (A/CA) Amelie Flechais


An EPIC FANTASY ADVENTURE For ALL AGES!


It's been 10 years since the men of the village left to fight in The Great War. Ten years since they left the women, children, and the older generation for a conflict far away from home and that they knew almost nothing about, except that it was about the security of their nation, their valley, their families. Ten years have passed since anyone has had any news of the war...


But the women quickly took charge of village matters. This is how the Order of Shepherdess Warriors was formed, a group of female fighters chosen among the most courageous and acrimonious, to protect not only their flocks, but also the village!


Molly is happy because as soon as she turns 10, she can finally start training, and if she's good enough, she can join the order and work out why there are more and more ferocious wolves in the valley. This quest will take her far beyond the boundaries of the land she knows, into the sorcerers' forest and on the trail of her missing parents.


Shepherdess Warriors is the odyssey of a young heroine living great adventures in a medieval-fantasy universe inspired by Celtic legends. An endearing story, suitable for most all ages, which gives pride of place to family and community ties, carried by warm, charming graphics and a scenario rich in humor with twists and turns.


Winner of the 2022 Angouleme Prize - Best Title for Ages 8-12 & Up!

APR231043


Why this caught my eye:

I'm always on about needing more Celtic myth in comics, and the art looks great.

 

SQUIRE & KNIGHT HC GN VOL 01

(W) Scott Chantler (A) Scott Chantler


In this first volume of a duology, a young squire tackles mysteries, monsters, and magic, but the inept knight he serves takes the credit. Every time.


Squire is brainy, bookish, and terribly under-appreciated by his boss, the brawny, inept knight, Sir Kelton, who somehow always gets all the glory. So, when the two mis-matched heroes find themselves in a cursed village, plagued by a demonic dragon, Kelton rides off to slay it, and Squire stays behind to catch up on some reading. But Squire starts to notice that something isn't quite right about this town . . . can he uncover its strange secrets?


Scott Chantler's prolific pen has inked a fantastic world with a compelling mystery. With characters that are relatable and dynamic, Squire & Knight is an instant classic that will enthrall readers.

MAR231529


Why this caught my eye:

It's been a hot minute since I've read some Chantler material (check out his past works here), so this sounds like a fun project to check out.

 

EVERY DAY HC GN

(W) David Levithan (A) Dion MBD


A graphic novel adaptation of the groundbreaking, beloved New York Times-bestselling novel about a teen who wakes up in a different body each day and the love that eludes them.


Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.


There's never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that-even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.


It's all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin's girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone they want to be with-day in, day out, day after day. But can Rhiannon love someone who is destined to change every day?


For the first time on the page, A's epic story will be brought to life as a graphic novel, with illustrations by Dion MBD.

MAR231698


Why this caught my eye:

An interesting setup, you can check out MBD's art here to sample the book a bit,

 

MIGHTY MARVEL TEAM-UP SPIDER-MAN ANIMALS ASSEMBLE

(W) Mike Maihack (A) Mike Maihack


When the Avengers are assembled to contain a super threat in New York City, Spider-Man is given the most important job of all: to make sure all the Avengers' super pets are safe! Spider-Man wants in on the bad guy fighting action, but with great power comes great pet sitting. Featuring fan favorite Avengers like Captain America, Captain Marvel, and Black Panther, this fun and funny original graphic novel sees the mighty web-slinger teaming up with the most unlikely of heroes to save the day!

APR231157


Why this caught my eye:

I absolutely love Maihack (I may be biased as he did do a variant cover for our old store) and it's mind boggling that DC and Marvel haven't tapped him for projects like this until recently. Seriously, follow him and check out his Batgirl/Supergirl stuff.

 

That's it for this batch, we'll check out some action/adventure on the next round!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page